206 Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #12)

206 Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #12)

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$39.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

206 Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #12) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 311 reviews.
Tidbitsofscott More than 1 year ago
This is the 12th book in the series. Temperence Brennan is a forensic anthropologist who divides her time between Charlotte, North Carolina and Montreal, Quebec, Canada. In this book she is also in Chicago partly for business and also for a holiday visit with her Latvian ex-inlaws. The book opens with Tempe bound, injured and confined in a small underground space and the story is told in flashbacks. This book is both engrossing and entertaining and is better than her last two books. That being said, my only complaint would be the blindingly obvious suspect that went unnoticed until the end and tangents that serve only to slow down the reader and show off the author's researching and/or trivia skills. Also, the very, very end devolves into what feels like a self-serving (although probably justifiable) tirade about qualifications to be a forensic anthropologist. While she may have a point, it was about a subtle as an anvil to the forehead and brought the book to a screeching halt. Granted, it was the last page so halting is to be expected, but the tone just didn't fit in with the overall book. You decide. I was okay with it.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear in her mind. Based on an anonymous tip to authorities, Brennan arrived in Chicago with Andrew Ryan of the Serete du Quebec where she is being accused of erring in her autopsy of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain. Meanwhile back in her Montreal lab, Brennan links Jurmain's death to the brutal murders of other elderly women by a particularly nasty serial killer. As she explores her premise further, she is just beginning to understand she is a trapped rodent in a deadly cat and mouse game. This is a super thriller that contains several strong subplots; especially intriguing is the challenge to the heroine's competency from an unknown source who seems to know forensics. Much more personal than usual, the courageous Dr. Brennan feels like a hunted animal who though wounded goes after her predator. Kathy Reichs provides a strong entry in one of the better mystery series of recent years. Harriet Klausner
AuntLoLo More than 1 year ago
This was a very exciting book and I read it very quickly, BUT I was gripping my chair when Bones found herself in the coffin. I should ask Kathy to pitch in to by me another dental appliance, as I ground my teeth to the nubs waiting for her ever Knight in Shining Armor to ride in on a white steed and save her. Kathy's writing is perfect for such a show as BONES and I am now watching all of the reruns. I never miss the TV show, BONES, and I will definitely buy any coming books written by this very talented author
KateNJ More than 1 year ago
206 Bones is a little different than the other books in this series, because it runs two parallel stories. The first has Tempe trapped, hurt, and confused - not knowing where she is or how she got there, but understanding she is in real trouble. The second tells us the back story of the case that led to her current situation. Both are terrific and when they come together? Powerful! As much as I enjoyed the complex story line, clever plot, and always intriguing personality Tempe displays, I couldn't wait to get this book to find out what happens next to Tempe and Andrew Ryan. Fans of the series will enjoy the format and the puzzles that abound in this book.
Lannie More than 1 year ago
Interesting, informative and exciting read! I love the Temperance Brennan character! I learned a lot reading this book. Thoroughly enjoyed it! A few others I thoroughly enjoyed, but were totally different, except you learn wonderful, feel good lessons in life that when you come away from them you kind of glow!......SAME KIND OF DIFFERENT AS ME, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung, and THE HELP, by K. Stockett....
Waldren_James More than 1 year ago
Has Dr. Brennan lost her edge? She can't concentrate, has trouble relating to her staff. Have the years taken a toll? She has over looked evidence at a crime scene. She misses clues left on teeth. Items that a newly hired less exprianced pathologest easily finds. What is happeneing is telgraphed to the astute reader before Brennan finally figures it out, but this does not take away from enjoying this book. Kathy Richs once again takes us into the lab and the area of forensic pathology and teaches us that there is a lot to learn from a bunch of bones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story 206 Bones begins with Forensic Anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan waking up in a cold, dark, and confined space. She realizes that her arms and legs are bound and that she is badly injured. Once she regains her composure, she sorts out the events that put her in this situation. She recently discovered the remains of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain and linked her death to the brutal murders of a serial killer. However, based on a tip to the authorities she is accused of mishandling the autopsy. With more murders lining up in Montreal, it seems almost as Brennan is being framed. The plot and charracters in this book are very practical and it is a great read.
CBH More than 1 year ago
206 Bones is a thriller, a mystery, a medical lesson, a geography lesson, a history lesson, and contains all the enjoyment that comes with the Temperance Brennan character in Kathy Reichs series of books. While the story is probably mostly fiction the locations and medical parts are undoubtedly not fictionalized. Temperance give 206 Bones her normal humor and romantic twists with the reader never sure where her mind is all the time but definitely mostly on her work as a forensic anthropologist. 206 Bones begins with Tempe aware that she is in a dark, tight, dirty, moldy, and musty place surrounded with dirt. She has no memory of how she got there or where she is but she knows she must get out of this godforsaken tomb! The story then shifts to before her entombment and gets the reader up to what she is working on. Tempe's very close "friend" is Lieutenant detective Andrew Ryan who is on the police force in Quebec, Canada. With Tempe's knowledge of forensics and the crimes involved, she and Ryan work together quite a bit, in this case traveling to Chicago. In her position, Tempe works for Montreal and teaches in North Carolina. During the story she travels around between parts of Canada, Chicago, and North Carolina. The story shifts occasionally back to Tempe trying to get out of this tomb. Several bodies have turned up, several of which had been discovered after many years missing and the forensics can get very tough with bones this old. Tempe has troubles with things going wrong in the morgue/laboratory along with threats she seems to have received from someone. She has no idea if that someone was a fellow employee or an outsider that might be connected with one of the new found murders. The story is very interesting and mysterious and a great read. The only trouble I occasionally had were some of the many technical names for many things connected with her work and locations in Canada but these would generally explain themselves to the reader as time goes on. Tempe is a great character, as those of us that watch the television series "Bones" know. You never know what she will say or do, or what she will come up with to get a case on track-or not! Kathy, I love your vocation and your way of thinking. I have read quite a few of your books and have never been disappointed from beginning to end. I also enjoy your personal input that you use to let us readers know what you are all about in your life.
Giiwanaadizi-Mindimooyenh More than 1 year ago
Yet another wonderful addition to the Temperance Brennan Series. I am looking forward to the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to join the others in the series. The characters are well rounded and the plote is one that makes you keep reading. This is a book that is hard to put down.
Noticer More than 1 year ago
The writing is enjoyable and found it very informative from a medical standpoint. Well worth reading especially since most people in our society today don't seem to know anything about biology and the human body.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. Reich's previous books were page turners from the beginning and this latest book is no exception.
7MAL More than 1 year ago
Excellent always enjoy the Bones series and look forward to the next one
KAT123KS More than 1 year ago
I returned to reading Kathy Reich/Temperance Brennen after a couple book break and have to say I really loved 206 Bones. The balance of science, investigation, thriller and the humanistic side of the characters captivated me and was really well done. The mystery was unique and the vulnerability of the 2 main characters made this a favorite for me in this series. Guess the break was for the better as I look forward to next installment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Between the writing style, plot twists, and the great scientific explanations, Reichs has created another hit. Can't wait for the next Temperance Brennan adventure.
Jay-Fer More than 1 year ago
In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French, and painfully slow, horribly exhaustive and descriptive soliloquies. The plot is disjointed, bouncing from Tempe's personal problems to her professional concerns, to a nasty neighbor, to a series of suspicious deaths, to her relationship with her ex in-laws, to her waking up battered and dazed in a burial vault. Even the descriptions of various characters are verbose to the point of no point, and we get to share numerous nasty moods and bouts of griping and moaning, both mental and verbal, of Tempe's as the book moves along. And those don't even include the mental calisthenics and freaking out that she does when she realizes she's buried alive. Little real excitement, as every situation is dissected and talked to death before it has a chance to play out in some more interesting manner.
HEDI09 More than 1 year ago
Love the suspense and the subject matter...Kept me turning pages long after I shoud have been asleep...but, that's okay! That's what I love!! Another spectacular find...EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG...Oh! Yes! I want a sequel!! I loved it so much I can't get it out of my head!! Check out the reviews! They hooked me big time!!
happyreader46 More than 1 year ago
not the best in the series, but still a good book
LivingMystery More than 1 year ago
This is a good book. The last few in the series were ok. This one brings back the suspense and intrigue that was there in the beginning of the series. This book also does not have Tempe traveling back and forth from the U.S. to Montreal that much. It was a very enjoyable read.
cewilch More than 1 year ago
Without fail, This author knows how to write a good book! The complex plots are well-crafted and not a word appears to be wasted. I love the characters in these books and the interaction between them. The cover of this book notes its link to the Fox TV Series BONES . . . I wish that you wouldn't say this on the book covers as it detracts from the book; the series BONES is so "lightweight" compared to the sophistication of the Kathy Reichs books. I am eagerly awaiting Kathy Reichs' next offering on the life of Dr. Brennan.
wortklauberlein on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tempe's in deep trouble (surprise). Coming to in a dank, dark place, she tries to reconstruct how she landed in this predicament. Succeeding chapters fill in the backstory, intermittently bringing the reader back to the heroine in her current pickle. The technique did ramp up the tension, as with each chapter the reader wonders, is *now* when the bad guy(s) nab her?As usual Tempe juggles several cases of dead people and her usual yes/no/I really shouldn't feelings toward hero-hunk Andrew Ryan, a detective. Blessedly, the romantic ditherings take up less space than in previous editions of the bones saga, and the chapters in which Tempe visits her sort-of-ex-in-laws near Chicago are excellent. I laughed out loud while listening to the audioversion as Ryan and Pete's brother-in-law joked around.The plot generally kept up a nice steady speed, though Kathy Reichs does a bit too much repetition of vics' names and circumstances. Most readers really can keep up without continual reminders. And she stepped into character (i.e. Tempe's) way too much to make for a readable/believable conclusion. Having Tempe natter on to Ryan about the importance of board certification of anthropologists blahblahblah and ethics blahblahblah when it (a) seems like preaching to the choir, (b) is something he must already be aware of, having spent oodles of time with Tempe, and (c) is totally anticlimactic, lets down the faithful reader. Better that Reichs contain the lecture to the essay that follows the book. Speaking of which, I found it odd in her mentioning of the Innocence Project that the Northwestern U. alum neglected to say it was NU J-school prof David Protess who originated the effort to reexamine old cases based on new DNA evidence.
DBryan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this at work. The author knows her subject but i felt that there was not enough action and too much nondescript stuff to get through. Overall a bit too slow for my taste.
claydragon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In 206 Bones by Kathy Reichs, Temperance Brennan, is handcuffed and buried in some place underground. She does not remember how she got there, she is injured, and terrified, but attempts to save herself. Then Ms. Reichs shows us the series of events that led up to the abduction. This is a first for me author and so I was not 100% sure of what to expect, because I like the TV series Bones, which I frankly love, but I know that some things don't translate well from book to screen. I think what surprised me the most about this was the one thing that irritated me the most -- the French (language that is). I do not speak the language, do not understand the language, and don't read it. Without the translations I would have been at sea in a heavy fog without knowing where in the heck I was going. I understand that most of the book takes place in Quebec Canada, and that French and English are both spoken there, but I could have really done without so much of the language. For those that may not know whom I'm talking about - Temperance Brennan is a renowned forensic anthropologist who seems to divide her time between labs in Quebec Canada and helping others -- and being with family in North Carolina. Her friend and romantic interest appears to be the good looking Lieutenant/detective Andrew Ryan, who works for the Surete du Quebec, but there is also mention of another gentleman in North Carolina that she seems to care for. The two (Ryan and Tempe) seem to have an on again off again romance that is currently off, although they have remained good friends, and Ryan seems to want to restart the romance. There are several very unusual things going on in this book -- again not being familiar with Ms. Reich's work I'm not sure if this is usual or just the tone of this book. The mysteries, include the deaths of three or four elderly females. As a favor to a friend, Temperance also tries to learn what happened to a young man who disappeared years ago. Temp also has to tolerate a newcomer or two in her lab in Canada, and things there aren't what they seem either.When Temperance talks bones, I listened, due in a large part I'm sure to Ms. Reich herself being such a well known and respected anthropologist. Ms. Reich's talents however do not all lie in just that one field as she also shows the harshness of a Montreal winter, with heavy snows, bad roads and lousy temps, and the fluidity of a well written mystery or would that be mysteries? Another thing that surprised me was that the weather seemed to mirror Temperance's mood/attitude for the most part, again I'm not sure if this is a common occurrence or just the way things went for this book. She is ticked that an ambitious newcomer named Marie-Andréa Briel is challenging her knowledge and apparently succeeding in making her look bad. Otherwise, I kind of enjoyed the book almost as much as I like the TV series. When Temperance spoke I listened, the book has a faint romance going on between Temperance and the detective Ryan, but the book is mainly a mystery, and it was written well enough that someone that doesn't usually read mysteries enjoyed herself. Would I buy the book in hardback, I'm afraid not, in paperback if I didn't have something else to read, maybe? That is the main reason I'm only giving this a 3 star, simply because while I enjoyed the book, it just didn't make me want to run out and find more by this author right away.
Shapatm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
206 Bones was my first introduction to Reich's Temperance Brennan, other than the TV series. I was a good book and I'll be finding some of the other books in the series to read. The story moved very slowly in the beginning but picked up through the book. It was a great read that let me escape my day to day life for a little bit.
Menagerie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I always look forward to Reich's new books and was a bit disappointed when I saw how slim this one was. It was a good read, but not as good as her earlier books. The plot was pretty slim and the characterizations for this-book-only people were a bit one-note. The overall feeling I was left with was twofold; first that Reichs wanted to talk about irresponsible forensic work, and second that she had a book due and cranked this out. I hope the next book in the series is more in keeping with the quality that I've come to expect from her.